STREST Participants

Twelve institutions are involved in the STREST project. The main responsible persons are listed below:

  1. Eidgenossische Technische Hochschule Zurich (ETH Zurich) - D. Giardini (Coordinator) | A. Mignan (Manager; WP1 leader) | B. Stojadinovic (WP5 leader)
  2. Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) - A. Schleiss
  3. Basler & Hofmann (BUH) - P. Zwicky (WP2 leader)
  4. European Centre for Training and Research in Earthquake Engineering (EUCENTRE) - H. Crowley
  5. Analisi e Monitoraggio del Rischio Ambientale (AMRA) - I. Iervolino (WP4 leader)
  6. Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV) - J. Selva
  7. Toegepast Natuurwetenschappelijk Onderzoek (TNO) - M. Spruijt
  8. Institut des Sciences de la Terre (ISTerre), Université Joseph Fourier (UJF) - F. Cotton (WP3 leader)
  9. Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTH) - K. Pitilakis (WP6 leader)
  10. Kandilli Observatory and Earthquake Research Institute (KOERI), Bogazici University (BU) - M. Erdik
  11. Ljubljana University (UL) - M. Dolsek
  12. Joint Research Centre (JRC) - F. Taucer (WP7 leader)

Board of Associated Industry Partners (BAIP)

The BAIP is formed of a representative of each of the 6 critical infrastructures considered in the project (see the Methods section). Its role is to provide data and recommendations for the application of the methods developed in the STREST project to the selected application sites. Members of the BAIP are:

  • CNR and AMRA, risk consultants for the ENI/Kuwait Milazzo petrochemical plant, Italy (CI-A1)
  • The Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE), regulator for the Valais dams of Switzerland (CI-A2)
  • BOTAS International Ltd., operator of the BTC (Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan) Crude Oil Pipeline, Turkey (CI-B1)
  • Gasunie Transport Services, owner of the national natural gas pipeline system, Netherlands (CI-B2)
  • Thessaloniki Port Authority SA (THPA SA), Greece (CI-B3)
  • Confindustria of Piacenza, representing all the industrial firms in the province of
    Piacenza, Italy (CI-C1)

International Advisory Board (IAB)

The role of the IAB is to act as an advisory body to the project and to provide external assistance. The IAB consists of five prominent, internationally recognized experts in the field. Besides the advisory role, the purpose of this committee is also to foster further international cooperation and dissemination of results and knowledge, and to coordinate the STREST work with other international research activities in the fields of research represented in the project. Members of the IAB are (by alphabetical order):

  • Prof. Norman Abrahamson, Head of hazard and risk assessment at PG&E, USA
  • Prof. Thomas H. Heaton, Director of the Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, USA
  • Prof. Stephen A. Mahin, Director of the Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research (PEER) Center, University of California Berkeley, USA
  • Prof. Masayoshi Nakashima, Director General of the Disaster Prevention Research Institute, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Prof. Tso-Chien Pan, Executive Director of the Institute of Catastrophe Risk Management, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore